The GolfRules Questions Podcast Podcast By David Blake with Co-hosts Ross Flannigan and Stuart McPhee cover art

The GolfRules Questions Podcast

The GolfRules Questions Podcast

By: David Blake with Co-hosts Ross Flannigan and Stuart McPhee
Listen for free

About this listen

Golf Rules because GolfRules Have you ever had a question about a golf rule? Been left confused about why a rule is what it is. Had to question a playing partner over a rules decision or just intrigued by the rules of this great game of golf. Well, then The GolfRules Questions Podcast is the place for you. Join resident GolfRules Questions guru Blakey and co-hosts Stuart & Rossco as they dive in behind the scenes to help bring you the latest information from the world of golf rules in a fun and entertaining way.380301 Golf
Episodes
  • GUEST: Elisa Hermes, an update about recent US OPEN qualifying tournaments and Rules worshops that Elisa has been running, we also discuss golf as an outdoor spot - THE GRQ PODCAST EP138
    Jun 3 2025

    GUEST: Elisa Hermes, an update about recent US OPEN qualifying tournaments and Rules worshops that Elisa has been running, we also discuss golf as an outdoor spot - THE GRQ PODCAST EP138


    GRQ137 - David hits his tee shot to the right of the fairway and it comes to rest inside a wombat hole that is on the side of a cliff face. The ball is not visible from the ground, but it was known to have gone into the hole, and the hole is very visible from the ground and it is easy to see that it is a wombat hole. David can't walk up the cliff face to get to the ball nor the hole, so he says to Andrew that he will take free relief, and use the nearest spot to the hole that he can reach as his reference point and drop a ball within a club-length of that spot. Andrew is not sure about that, and doesn't even think David could actually play a shot at the ball, as he can't climb the cliff face. Andrew calls in a referee, and that is you, what is your ruling?

    Answer: The stroke would have been clearly unreasonable for David, so there is no free relief. He would have to take stroke-and-distance and he cannot locate the exact spot of the ball.


    GRQOTW138

    A player' s ball has come to rest on the fringe. There is some dirt in front of his ball that looks to have stuck together and fallen off the bottom of another player's shoe. Is the player allowed to remove that dirt that is on his line of play?

    DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey

    Show more Show less
    59 mins
  • CLUBLAND STORIES May: Wrong Balls, Intervening Event for a Deliberate Stop, Moving a Loose Impediment in a Bunker, Dropping a Ball with No Intention for it to be in Play - THE GRQ PODCAST EP137
    May 24 2025

    CLUBLAND STORIES May: Wrong Balls, Intervening Event for a Deliberate Stop, Moving a Loose Impediment in a Bunker, Dropping a Ball with No Intention for it to be in Play - THE GRQ PODCAST EP137


    Blakey is back, by himself this time, hopefully the audio is a lot better. There are some fun ClubLand stories this time, and of course the GRQOTW's and we serve up an easy question for Golf.Ai.


    GRQOTW 136

    Blakey and Stuart are playing each other in a match at Wombat Hills. As Stuart is preparing to make his 2nd stroke in the general area on the 3rd hole, his ball moves backwards slightly. Before Stuart can remove his club, the ball comes to rest against the club, which stops it moving. Blakey is standing close by watching and both players agree that neither Stuart or any outside influence caused the ball to move.

    Just to be sure of what to do next, Blakey calls in a referee.

    What is the ruling?

    Answer: The movement of the ball was caused by natural forces, so no penalty.

    The stopping of the ball was accidental, so no penalty.

    The player is to remove their club, and if the ball moves in that case, there is no penalty and the ball needs to be replaced.


    GRQOTW 137

    GRQ137 - David hits his tee shot to the right of the fairway and it comes to rest inside a wombat hole that is on the side of a cliff face. The ball is not visible from the ground, but it was known to have gone into the hole, and the hole is very visible from the ground and it is easy to see that it is a wombat hole. David can't walk up the cliff face to get to the ball nor the hole, so he says to Andrew that he will take free relief, and use the nearest spot to the hole that he can reach as his reference point and drop a ball within a club-length of that spot. Andrew is not sure about that, and doesn't even think David could actually play a shot at the ball, as he can't climb the cliff face. Andrew calls in a referee, and that is you, what is your ruling?


    GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISE

    Get yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/

    DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:

    Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.com

    WANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCE

    Head to Instagram: @GOLF.AI_

    OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITY

    LISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFY

    Click here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questions

    SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules

    #golfrules #GOLF.AI #blakey

    Show more Show less
    36 mins
  • COMMUNITY QUESTIONS April: included searching for a ball in sand, order of play, changing the characteristics of the club, pitch mark off the green, and more - THE GRQ PODCAST EP136
    Apr 7 2025

    Community Questions

    Stuart and Blakey did a catch up on the most recent Community Questions - these can be found on YouTube, where you can guestimate the answer, and see if you got it right. Some of the questions included searching for a ball in sand, order of play, changing the characteristics of the club, pitch mark off the green, and more.

    GRQOTW 136

    - Blakey and Stuart are playing each other in a match at Wombat Hills. As Stuart is preparing to make his 2nd stroke in the general area on the 3rd hole, his ball moves backwards slightly. Before Stuart can remove his club, the ball comes to rest against the club, which stops it moving. Blakey is standing close by watching and both players agree that neither Stuart or any outside influence caused the ball to move.

    Just to be sure of what to do next, Blakey calls in a referee.

    What is the ruling?

    GRQOTW135:

    A player's ball, played from the putting green, is deflected into the hole by another player's caddie, who accidentally walked across the line of play. The original ball, or another ball, must be replaced on its orginal spot and the stroke must be replayed.

    TRUE

    The ball has been accidentally deflected on the putting green by another person, so the stroke is cancelled and must be replayed. Rule 11.1


    GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/.DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules

    #golfrules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey

    Show more Show less
    1 hr and 4 mins
adbl_web_global_use_to_activate_T1_webcro805_stickypopup
No reviews yet